Paleo Shopping List Week of 2.3.13

Most of the time I don’t fit the classic law school Type A personality.  I am far from a perfectionist, more of a “get-it-done-as-fast-as-possible-so-I- can-go-enjoy-myself”-ist. While stubborn, I’m not too competitive nor do I care about being at the top.

ImageMost days, I wear gym clothes anywhere I am allowed to and don’t bother doing my hair. But when it comes to keeping things organized, that’s where the Type A can be seen. I wasn’t always that way. I had a messy room and an unmade bed just like the rest of them. Then something hit me, and now I’m one of those people who finds cleaning and organizing “relaxing” from the kitchen, to the bathroom to my grocery list.

Image

yes, I said it. I organize my grocery list. I classify it into the different sections of the store so it’s easier to find thing. Don’t judge me.

It’s lucky for you, really, because I just so happen to have made one for all the Paleo meals I will be making this week, which include:

Blueberry Lemon Breakfast Cake

Buffalo Chicken Wraps with Mashed Cauliflower

Crockpot Balsamic Date Beef Shank with Sauteed Red Cabbage with Apple and Onion

Citrus Scallop Salad with Balsamic Green Bean Reduction

Miscellaneous Snacks.

I’ll post the recipes and pictures as I create them, but in case you want a mindless week of cooking and creating, you may wanna head to the store for the following:

MEAT

1 lb scallops

12 Eggs (Two Dozen if you want Hard Boiled Eggs for a Snack)

½ lb chicken thighs

1lb beef roast

1lb chicken breasts

PRODUCE

1 Orange

3 Avocados

Two Pints Cherry Tomatoes

1 Bushel Green Onions

1 Cauliflower

1 Red Cabbage

Broccoli

1 Lime

3 Lemons

1 Grapefruit

5 Apples of your choice

1 Green Apple

1 Red Onion

1 Yellow Onion

Handful of Cilantro

Dates

Butter Lettuce

Cucumber

Bell Pepper

Green Beans

Sweet Potato

FROZEN

Blueberries

NUTS

Almond Butter (I prefer Justin’s Original or Justin’s Maple Almond)

Pistachios

 

SPICES

Garlic Powder

Onion Powder

Paprika

Rosemary

MISC.

1 15 Ounce Can Tomato Sauce

Balsamic Vinegar

Coconut Oil

Apple Cider Vinegar

Salt

Pepper

Baking Soda

Maple Syrup

Vanilla Extract

Honey

Image

 

5 thoughts on “Paleo Shopping List Week of 2.3.13

  1. Thank you so much for this wonderful post. I am new to the Paleo thing. Actually I am waiting until I get all of the book and read through them to start. My wife is happy with waiting. I wish we could start today but I still do not know enough about it to do it correctly. All things is good time. I appreciate your blog very much. I am also following Paleo Parents

    • Thank you so much, James! It’s good you are getting books to learn more about it. One of the hardest things is making sure you prepare enough healthy foods so that you don’t get hungry and reach for the unhealthy snacks! It’s also important to make sure you learn what types of carbohydrates and healthy fats your body needs and how to get them from non-processed foods, so I am sure you will learn a lot from the books! I will check out the blog you recommended! Thanks for reading and have a good evening!

  2. KB and I are way into this – we use an app called ‘Out of Milk’ on our phones to create grocery lists, and then I organize them into sections of the store (is it bad I have the aisles memorized?) by dragging and dropping. The best part is that we can both update the same list from either phone – sometimes when I’m at the store without him he’ll add a couple things to the list and they’ll appear on my phone for me to pick up. Plus, when we shop together it takes about half the time, since we each have a copy of the list and can see what the other person has already grabbed….plus where they are in the store! App is free, I recommend it. Love your blog, wish I could go paleo, still thinking about trying to find a way

Leave a comment