Becoming OK with Weight Gain and the Scale

I have gained twenty pounds since I moved to Colorado three years ago. 2-0. The weight of a small child has slathered itself across my body. I’d like to say it’s all muscle, but it’s not. When I moved here I was partying too much, eating too little, all while running a ton of mileage while training for half marathons.

How I got my exercise before CrossFit

How I got my exercise before CrossFit

When I got my mind right and healthy eating on track, my body put on more than just muscle to reach it’s happy place. Unfortunately, it took some time for me to be okay with that happy place. When there is no mirror in front of me and I’m doing something I’d proud of, like CrossFit, I feel like I’m the baddest thing to walk this earth. Most days I can look in the mirror and be more than happy with what I see. But some times that urge to step on the scale overpowers me and, when I do, it shatters that confident image of myself

I was talking to some girls at my box a couple weeks ago about how crazy it is how those little numbers on a screen can make or break you day. No matter how much I preach, and usually tend to believe, that you should value performance over looks, it’s hard not to have a little part of you that still wants to be at that magical number that you have in your head that is your “thin/sexy/hot/goal” weight. I went out to dinner a couple weeks ago with my non CrossFit friend and she was telling me about her struggles to loose weight. She told me that no matter what, her body just stays at her current weight. I told her it had probably just reached a healthy homeostasis and she said “Yeah, probably…. I just wish my natural weight were 5 pounds lighter”. What is it about NUMBERS that can drive us crazy? She is absolutely gorgeous, but somehow 5 lbs that no one else would notice is the difference between a good body and a “bad” body.

scale

I was talking (well, annoyingly whining) to my boyfriend about how I felt big the other day and he told me I need to delete all my instagram “fitness” accounts because they are giving me unrealistic expectations of what girls should look like. I know this, I wrote a blog post about this, but I still tried to justify it with “No, it doesn’t, it motivates me to work out”. He responded “No, it makes you feel bad and guilty about yourself, so you go to work out”. He then proceeded to give me a long talk about valuing performance over looks, that society has constructed the idea that women shouldn’t have muscle but there is nothing sexier than a girl busting her ass to give it her all (He’s pretty great, huh?::sigh::). He then made me read the article “I became awesome, not skinny“, which every female athlete should read.

thunder thighs

So I deleted all the instagram fitness accounts I followed, but I still couldn’t get out of my funk. That is, until this past weekend at the Tuff Luv CrossFit Competition. I was suddenly surrounded by some bad ass women, in all shapes and sizes, with no make up, hair in messy ponytails with enough confidence to fill a football stadium. I was overwhelmed with love for the human body and what it can do. I was reminded, once again, of my goals, which don’t involve dieting back down to a size 2. If my body is making gains and lifting heavier weight at this size, then this is the size that I need to be. Because, in the end, being able to clean and jerk 195lb like the woman did this weekend is gonna make me a hell of a lot more ecstatic and memorable than fitting in to my old jeans.

 

Can the scale still make or break your day?

How do you plan on getting over that? Or how did you?

6 thoughts on “Becoming OK with Weight Gain and the Scale

  1. I love this post, and the article your boyfriend recommended. I love competition, including training for races, and reading her article made me fired up to get into more competitive situations again. Your blog makes me stoked to get into Crossfit!

  2. Pingback: Body, body image, insane amounts of cardio and 1200 Calories -- Real Talk - | Bombshell

  3. Yeah I went through the same thing when I got a job in the corporate world and gained an unappealing 10 pounds. The thing for me that I focus on is being strong and eating clean, and incorporating healthy habits into my daily life. The shedding of those unappealing extra pounds (in a year) was an added bonus.

  4. I definitely think CrossFit has helped me with this. As a runner, I always wanted to lose weight because I knew it would help my times. But in CrossFit, sometimes being heavier helps me move more weight!! 🙂

  5. Your boyfriend is so sweet and wonderful to tell you all those things. It’s definitely something I struggle with sometimes – checking the scale. I don’t do it obsessively, but I do it regularly to maintain my weight. After vacations, that number is usually higher but then comes right back down once I’m back to my routine. I’m not in perfect or amazing shape – no one would want to see me half naked doing pull ups, I’m just not that kind of fit. But I judge myself by how I feel, how proud I am of how hard I can push it when it comes to working out and how good I feel in my clothes. I have a huge ass and it’s all mine. It ain’t going anywhere! 🙂 Anyway, that 20 pound small child slathered all over your body looks GOOD, damn good! 🙂 Now come to ATL to do a XFIT competition!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

