Hawaii Days 4, 5 &6

Brrrr. I’m back in Colorado and freezing my butt off. We got back yesterday morning after a sleepless, turbulent overnight flight. The memories of this trip will have to tide me over until summer, I suppose.

On the 4th day the boy and I decided to check out the touristey side of the island and headed to Waikiki. We were not impressed, at all. Compared to the north shore beaches we had been too this one was so small, so flat and SO crowded.

20140110-084636.jpg

We bronzed for a bit, shopped for a bit and then we were ready to head back north and out of the tourist traps!

Day 5 my friend still had to work, so the boy and I headed south east to Kalua bay for some kayaking! When we got there it was a little windy with some sizeable choppy waves.

20140110-084859.jpg

After talking it over we decided to risk it and head about a mile out to a big island you can pull up on.

20140110-085121.jpg
We ha borrowed kayaks from my friend and her fiancée and, while very nice kayaks, they were designed to be used with spray skirts (to keep water out) and we didn’t have any.

Very long story short, the paddle there was fine as soon as we figured out a route that avoided the reef. When it was time to push of from the island we realized that it would be difficult because waves were coming around from either side of the island and smashing together right in front of the beach. We would have to time it just right and paddle like hell to get past. We decided my boyfriend would go first so I could push him out since I’m a bit more comfortable in the water and was okay pushing myself off from the shore. He made it out and I went to push myself off with proper timing. I had to wait about 3 minutes after him to go and I made it out past the breakers and looked up just in time to see him get knocked out of his kayak in front of me.

We tried to drain the kayak using the T technique I learned when I was younger, but this kayak was not designed to get water in it and therefore was not designed to be emptied easily. Watching as the kayak began to take on more water we decided that I would tow the now slowly sinking kayak and my boyfriend back to shore. A long hour and some tired shoulders later we touched onto someone’s private beach front, as it was the closest, to drain the kayak on shore and keep going back to the beach where we had parked.

A tiring adventure, but an adventure none the less. Have you ever hear of the show ‘I shouldn’t be alive’ that reenacts stories where people should have died while stranded in the wild? Well I am notorious for yelling at the TV during the show about how idiotic the people on it are  and their very bad their survival skills. That may have been my motivator to not whine and keep paddling during this experience.

Day 6 my friend had work off so we could hang out! We went to the Dole pineapple plantation in the morning.

20140110-090227.jpg

Where I got to see a pineapple mid growth cycle, which was still slightly different than I had thought.

20140110-090329.jpg

Next we went to Hale’iwa (because I’m obsessed with the north shore) to get some presents for people back home.

20140110-090444.jpg

And we spotted some sea turtles who decided to hang out.

20140110-090533.jpg

Then it was time to sadly end the trip and head to the airport. While it was nice to sleep in my own bed last night I miss my friend already and the beautiful green warmth of oahu! I haven’t worked out in over a week and I’m excited, albeit a bit scared ,to head back to my box this weekend?

Wha are your weekend plans?
What’s your favorite place you’ve visited?

One thought on “Hawaii Days 4, 5 &6

Leave a Reply

