Blogiversary and A New Year

A year ago I sat down to write my first blog post, inspired by the quote ‘you only have one life to do everything you’ve ever wanted, act accordingly’. I didn’t expect many people to read this blog, but I found myself overflowing with the emotions that accompany a life changing stage and I needed to get them out. I had spent years reading blogs, from travel blogs to ‘mom’ blogs’ to healthy living blogs. The longest relationship I’ve ever had is with a blog whose author ‘got me’ during my emotionally depressed late teens/early 20s and helped me grow into a happy, strong, opinionated woman 10 years later. I felt that if my blog could inspire just one person, then it would be worth the time of blogging.

20140102-164259.jpg

And it has, a thousand times over. I never expected to get the response I have had to my blog. From people I haven’t talked to in 5-10 years messaging me thanking me for my blog, to random strangers in the blogging community treating me like a friend, to people close in my life who are stuck listening to me everyday still taking the time to read my thoughts.

I’m currently sitting on a plane, with 3 hours down and 5 hours left in my travel, typing away on my iPhone to once again try to get some thoughts out of my buzzing head. New Years is often a time that people think about what they should have done in the past year and resolve to ‘do better’. But, for the first time in a long time, I don’t have any disappointment in myself for things I should have done.

20140102-164500.jpg
I had a great year.

And that’s not due to luck or circumstance, it’s because I actively took control of my life and chose to make it that way. I broke free of the mold that had become my life. I resolved to not just smile everyday, but to laugh multiple times a day. I had more patience, not just with others but with myself. I accepted the fact that I am not perfect and that it is okay to try things and fail. I didn’t allow myself to settle in relationships, both friend and romantic, that were ‘comfortable’ but not fulfilling. I made note of the people in my life, near and far, who inspire me and I let them know how much they mean to me. I challenged myself. I appreciated my life and reminded myself of everything I have, even in moments when it was hard to see beyond the immediate distress. I fell in love, both with myself and with an amazing man who helps me squeeze the most out of life.

20140102-164629.jpg
Life doesn’t just ‘happen’. As the saying goes, crazy is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. Break free from the ‘one days’, the ‘I should’s ‘ instead of the ‘I am’s’, the ‘maybe tomorrow’s’.

This year my resolution is to once again be an active participant in my life. To continue to push myself outside of my comfort zone in order to grow. To love more, worry less. To keep being overjoyed with my life.

>

20140102-164830.jpg
And I hope you will all continue to follow me on this wild ride called life, while also enjoying the adventure of creating your own happiness. Happy New Year to all my readers and thank you for sticking with me.

What will you do to make this year memorable?
What is one of your ‘maybe one day’s?

2 thoughts on “Blogiversary and A New Year

  1. Happy Blogiversary you beautiful girly! Blogging has definitely changed me for the better and I’m so happy to have found you and your blog! You are inspirational, motivated, and just FUN to read about. 🙂 Please don’t ever leave me. Also, in response to you comment on Instagram: please move your hot self to Atlanta and I promise to workout with you everyday!!! Haha! Happy New Year and YAY for ONE YEAR of blogging!! One last thought – I totally agree with you about how cool it is to be able to influence family/friends/strangers for the better. It’s the best feeling ever.

Leave a Reply

