First day on the slopes!

Today someone found my blog by Googling “fattie meatloaf”. To that person – I applaud you.. Hope my Bacon Meatloaf helped make your day that much better.

Sunday was my first day up on the slopes this year! When I moved to CO I had wanted to get really good at snowboarding. I went twice my first year and three-four times my second. Turns out, you have to actually practice something regularly to get good at it. Fancy that. A month ago I went to this ski/snowboard movie with some friends and was totally inspired. Not that I ever have any plans of jumping out of helicopters to fly down a mountain, but being able to get off the easy greens would be nice. So, I decided to get my ass in gear and get up on that mountain early in the season so I can really make some progress this year.

Image

My amazing friend has come with me the past couple times I went to help teach me, since she rocks the mountain and makes it look easy. She is super patient and encouraging, yelling out “Yah Fiona, you go it!” super loud and drawing attention so that people zooming by me began to comment “you got i!” and “making progress”.  I’m getting better at connecting my turns and not making it so I have to go super wide, but I still am petrified every time I start picking up speed and throw on the brakes. I’ve been told it’s like riding a bike and it’s actually easier once you have some speed, but I still just picture myself rolling down the mountain and breaking my face every time I get going. Anyone have any tips for getting over that?

We were there for about 4 hours, but then it started to get dark, icy and cold, so we decided to call it a day. I love driving through the mountains at night, nice and warm in the car staring at the dark snow covered trees. It was the perfect way to close out the weekend and, hopefully, just the start of many days up in the mountains this winter.

2 thoughts on “First day on the slopes!

  1. So, the first and only time I have snowboarded was here in the Austrian Alps. That puts me at a total of….once (for 2 days). Now you are telling me I have to practice. I guess I will look into this concept some more when I hit Colorado. I think you should make a newbie to the Rockies and snowboarding tip type blog.

  2. What a cute picture of you girls! Super sporty and super adorable! I have never skied or snowboarded so I’m super impressed by your persistence and goal of being able to snowboard like a pro. I am certain you’ll be able to accomplish that, considering you just had an awesome Olympic life competition. Shiiiiit, is there anything you can’t do??
    Ha! Cute that you’re getting lots of encouragement out there! Atta’ girl!! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

