CrossFit Potluck, Nanos 3.0 and Nipples

Disclaimer: you won’t be seeing any real nipples. It’s not that kind of blog. However, you may think twice about choosing the pink Nano 3.0s. The first day I wore them I got told they remind people of (a) pepto bismol, (b) the easter bunny or (c) nipples.  When I got the nipple comment I immediately got a flashback to a delicious cake I made for a Mardi Gras Party two years ago.

422123_653812427512_1597670696_nNano

Now you can tell me, do these shoes remind you at all of nipples? Or have I just been traumatized now so that every time I look at them that’s what I see?

Besides the color, I love the Nano 3.0 for CrossFit. I had been lifting in my Adidas Adizero (my favorite short distance running shoes), that are very minimalist. I didn’t realize that when you are Oly Lifting you benefit from having a heel in the shoe, who knew?! The Nano’s have a slight heel to toe drop (4mm), plenty of forefoot cushioning that make it easy to transition from Oly lifts to box jumps to attempting and failing to jump rope (like me) to short sprints. They are pretty heavy, compared to my Adizero’s, so I wouldn’t recommend them for anything over 1/4 mile run, but they are perfect for your typical cross fit workout and definitely help with the Oly Lifts.

Last Friday my CrossFit gym had a Paleo Potluck to celebrate people who had signed up for a Whole 30 challenge.  I was not one of those people, but I went anyway since it was Halloween themed and I wanted to see everyone in costumes. I dressed up as a cavewoman, which I thought was pretty CrossFit/Paleo appropriate.

photo 1-4

Our coaches all competed in a WOD, in costumes, which was pretty entertaining. Not a bad looking group..

Image

Photo Stolen from Danit

The food was also amazing. I made pecan stuffed dates wrapped in proscuitto and baked. Super easy, super delicious.

photo-10 photo 2-3

There were so many delicious foods I can’t wait to try out, especially the deserts. Bacon Date Cookies anyone?

It was a lot of fun to be able to meet people outside of your normal weekly WODS, who all share in your interest and love of CrossFIt.

How was your weekend? Do anything to get in the Halloween Spirit?

3 thoughts on “CrossFit Potluck, Nanos 3.0 and Nipples

  1. Haha, the shoes do not look like nipples. Your friends are dirty dirty!!! I love pink and these are cute! So is that cake and so is your cavewoman outfit! Totally appropriate for the crossfit paleo situation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

