Denver Rock N Roll Mini Marathon

Five weeks ago my work sent around an email saying they would pay for anyone to enter the Rock n Roll 1/2 marathon or Mini Marathon. Five weeks wasn’t quite long enough for most of us to train for a 1/2, but a good number of us signed up for the Mini Marathon, a whopping 3.75 miles 🙂

The 1/2, Full Marathon and Mini Marathon all started at the same time and I have only one word for this race: CROWDED.  Let’s start with the bathroom lines. This picture was taken as the horn went off for the people in corral 1 to start running. I had already been waiting FIFTEEN MINUTES.  Yes, you are right that you can’t even see the port-a-potties because the line curves around and continues another 10 people or so. Oof.

Image

I somehow had been placed in corral 13, but snuck into corral 7 near the front. The first 1/2 mile wasn’t too bad, but then it started bottle necking. I went up on the sidewalk and ran there for a bit and, while looking around to see where I could squeeze back into the pack and then nearly flipped over a wall/bridge barrier that seemed to come out of nowhere in front of me. I stuck to the road after that. This race also had some of the worst race etiquette I have ever seen, with people stopping to tie their shoes in the middle of the road instead of moving to the edge. I was very glad when the mini marathon broke off from the 1/2 and Full, because I could not imagine running a full 1/2 like that.

I didn’t go out there trying to PR anything, especially with such a random distance, but I wasn’t too disapointed with my times. Definitely would have been nicer to have a bit more free space and less running into people.

Image We were rewarded with delicious Michelob Ultra’s at 8am. Because that’s exactly what you want at 8am, right?

Image

Overall, it was a great way to start my sunday morning with some people I like hanging out with ( I’m pretty lucky to have some awesome coworkers). I think doing a physical activity together is a great way to bond with people. I also love the fact that my company was encouraging people to be active and fit. My kinda place!

Do you like being active with friends?

Has your work ever sponsored some type of race/physical activity?

3 thoughts on “Denver Rock N Roll Mini Marathon

  1. Hey, I’d take a Mich Ultra over a Red Stripe any day! Last time a race I entered offered beer at the end, it was Red Stripe. Gross.
    GREAT splits! That’s impressive! And I totally agree, doing physical activity with anyone brings you to a whole other level. 🙂 Have a fabulous weekend pretty lady!

  2. have you run the BolderBoulder? I ran it a few times when I lived in Longmont and I always loved my beer at the end

    My old work used to have us on some incentive program with a pedometer, and after so many “points” you’d get like gift cards or Disneyland tickets

  3. I have a super active workplace as well, about half the staff here are cyclist. Each year we all ride the American Diabetes Association’s Tour de Cure. It’s how I’ve made some of my closest friends. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

