Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal Recipe

In case you don’t have friends who have posted this all over Facebook/Twitter – The Pumpkin Spice Latte is officially back at Starbucks. While I don’t go gaga over this latte, I am absolutely in love with everything Fall. Growing up in New England, I feel like it’s in my blood to love fall. Apple Picking, Cider Donuts, Pumpkin Carving, Hay Rides, Colored Leaves, Vests and Sweaters, Halloween Costumes… I could go on and on.

Although it’s only September, I keep checking weather.com to see when the weather will start its slow change from brutally hot to crisp and amazing. So far, no such luck. But I couldn’t wait any longer, so I decided to do my equivalent of a fall rain dance and make some fall themed food. It’s not paleo but, as I’ve said before, not everything I eat is. It will make you feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside and tickle your tastebuds.

Image

Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal

2 Cups water

2 Cups Almond Milk

1 Can Pumpkin Puree (12-14 ounces) with NO added spices/sugars etc

1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

2 cups oatmeal

3 tablesppons raisin

2 tablespoons flaxseeds

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

Maple Syrup to Taste

1. Add water, almond milk and pumpkin puree to a pot and bring to boil.

2. Add oatmeal and pumpkin spice, stir.

3. Lower heat to medium and cook until only a bit of liquid is left. Remove from heat and stir in raisins. Once you divide it into bowls, top it with pumpkin seeds, cover with maple syrup and enjoy!

 

What’s your favorite season?

What is your favorite thing about fall?

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal Recipe

  1. Pingback: Paleo Cranberry Pumpkin Spice Protein Breakfast Cake | BE ABOUT IT

  2. Pingback: Happy Friday | Off the Shelf

Leave a Reply

