Paleo Sweet Orange Salmon

Last night I had someone tell me I had to step up my recipe game as they were running out of things to eat for dinner. So, Todd, I hope you like fish. Specifically, salmon. I know there are a lot of people out there who don’t like fish because it’s too “fishy”, but trust me – This recipe is meant for those people. I promise you it won’t taste like it leapt out of a stream and into your mouth.

Image

I will admit the one thing I don’t like about cooking fish is that it can make your house smell and make your hands smell when you clean off the dishes. Therefore, I always cook my fish in tinfoil (wrapped up and placed directly  on the oven rack) so I can immediately throw it out once I am done and there are no dishes. It also traps a lot of the scent.

What are the health benefits of salmon? Well there are a lot of them. First, it obviously is high in protein and provides you with healthy omega 3-fats, (reduces inflammation) but there is so much more than that. A 1/4 pound (4 oz) piece of salmon has a full days worth of vitamin D (yes, the vitamin that people think only comes from the sun), and large amounts of B12 and B6. Lastly, although a lot of people worry about mercury in fish, never fear – both wild and farmed salmon have very low levels of mercury.

So with that, I give you: Paleo Sweet Orange Salmon (I know I have a lot of “orange” recipes. what can I say? I like my citrus)

The picture also has kale (steamed), and carrots and squash that I also wrapped in tinfoil with some salt and pepper and baked in the oven for about 25 minutes. A well rounded meal!

Image

PALEO SWEET ORANGE SALMON

1 lb salmon

1 tsp chili powder

1 orange (grate 1 teaspoon of the orange rind and then save the rest of the orange for the juice)

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/4 teaspoon coriander

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 tsp honey

1. Mix all dry ingredients (including orange rind) in a bowl

2. Place salmon onto piece of tin foil that is big enough to fully cover it once it is wrapped up.

3. Squeeze juice from the orange onto the salmon (as much or as little as you want)

4. Rub the dry mixture onto salmon.

5. Drizzle the teaspoon of honey on top of salmon

6. Put in the oven and bake at 350* for about 20 minutes, or turn oven broiler on and put in the oven for about 8 minutes. The salmon should turn from dark pink to light pink when done.

Going hiking after work today with my friend who did the partner plank push ups with me. Trying to get the most of the warm weather before it suddenly starts snowing in two months!

One thought on “Paleo Sweet Orange Salmon

Leave a Reply

