Paleo Tangy Chicken with Mango Jalapeño Lime Salsa + Fruit Flies (but not together)

Hey guys! Long time no talk. My bad on that one. I keep thinking about things I should write about, but then don’t have the mental energy to actually do it. But I’m finally well rested and ready for a steady stream of posts on how to foam roll, how to be happy, overpronation, some recipes, and more.

All week I was looking forward to Saturday for the sole purpose of being able to sleep in. You ever have one of those weeks? After a nice long snooze, I decided to get up to the mountains and went for a hike with my friend and my dog (who is 11 lbs and needed to be carried now and then, just adding an extra challenge!).

Image It was overcast and started sprinkling a little on the way back, but was still nice to get out and get some fresh air. That night I watched a documentary on Happiness, which was very interesting and I’ll talk more about in my next post. One hint: exercise was considered one of the best ways to improve your happiness level.

Today I had wanted to go tubing, but Mother Nature decided to bless us with 60 degrees and rain, so I did a quick speed workout with some negative splits.

ImageI’m trying to get my speed back up and, as much as I hate short fast runs, it’s the only way to improve my overall speed.  Good thing I had some yummy food waiting for me. I present you with…

Image

BAKED (or GRILLED) TANGY CHICKEN WITH MANGO JALAPEÑO LIME SALSA

1lb chicken breasts

1 jalapenos

2 limes

1 red onion

1 mango

salt/pepper

1 avocado

1. Dice the onion and jalapeño and stick them in a bag

2. Squeeze juice from limes and lemon into the bag

3. Cut up mango (without skin) and put it in the plastic bag

4.  Put chicken breasts in bag and let marinate for at least 45 minutes in the fridge

5. Put a dash of salt and pepper into the bag and shake

6. Back in the oven on 350* until done, about 25 minutes.

7. Serve with chopped up avocado

Now, since it’s in the title I have to mention the neat little trick I learned to get rid of fruit flies. Pour some apple cider vinegar and a piece of a banana into a water bottle. Take a piece of paper and roll it up, put it in the bottle.

Image

The flies will fly down, but won’t be able to fly out. Finally an easy way to get rid of the ever multiplying pests! Until next time, friends.

Leave a Reply

