Paleo Spicy Orange Chicken

I was going to do a “What I Ate Wednesdays (WIAW) “ to give people ideas on how to stay Paleo all day,  but my food photography skills are still developing and everything looked like a shiny pile of mush, so I’ll save that for next week and practice in the meantime.

Originally I was going to lift this morning, but the weather was so warm (by that I mean over 20 degrees) so I decided to head outside for a run and move my weight training until tonight.

Why yes, I am listening to a book on tape while I run. Nerding out!

Why yes, I am listening to a book on tape while I run. Nerding out!

Since I’m recovering from a cold I didn’t push it too hard, just enjoyed the sunshine and not having to run with a million layers on.

I came back starving and with little time before I had to head to class. Luckily I had been good about meal prep last night, so I was able to pop some spaghetti squash with meatballs in the microwave. While eating I watched a webinar on Sugar Sweetened Beverages and the Ban in NYC (write up coming on Friday), then headed off to class.

Last night, I decided I wanted something spicy and citrusy so I whipped up some Paleo Orange Chicken. I’ve never been a huge fan of Chinese Food, I always found it left me feeling greasy and tired, so that wasn’t too hard to drop when I started eating Paleo. If you are a big fan, or even if you aren’t, I recommend making this recipe.

Total prep time of maybe 5 minutes.

Total prep time of maybe 5 minutes.

It’s incredibly simple to make, only required two pans, but absolutely delicious.

Paleo Spicy Orange Chicken

Paleo Spicy Orange Chick

Paleo Spicy Orange Chicken*

1lb chicken thighs

3 bushels of green onions cut up

2 Tangelos (or oranges or tangerines) (zest one,  juice them both)

2tsp fresh ground/zested ginger

1tsp siracha

1tp Worchestor Sauce (or if you don’t have a soy allergy like me, Gluten Free Soy Sauce)

2 tbs coconut oil

Dash of red pepper (optional)

  1. Cut up raw chicken thighs into bite size pieces
  2. Heat Coconut Oil in a pan and add chicken thighs (if you like spicy things add the red pepper)
  3. Add zest from Tangelo, juice from Tangelo, Ground Ginger, Siracha and Worchester sauce to a separate pan
  4. Put on low simmer, stirring occasionally
  5. Once chicken has cooked add it to the orange sauce
  6. Cook a bit longer for about two minutes
  7. Then pour chicken and sauce onto a mix of the green onions and spinach
  8. Enjoy 🙂

* This recipe adapted from Health Bent to accommodate my soy allergy.

 

One thought on “Paleo Spicy Orange Chicken

  1. Pingback: Friday Fun | BE ABOUT IT

Leave a Reply

